Japanese Pro Baseball

A forum for sports talk.
Forum rules
The basic forum rules are here :wink: . Refer to the BBCode Guide for information on using BBCode tags, plus this post about additional tags for embedding video.

Japanese Pro Baseball

Unread postby bshabu » Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:54 pm

There doesn't look like there is a lot of interest in this forum for baseball, let alone Japanese Baseball. That being said, I thought I would ask anyway. Does anyone care? I do favor the Tigars. I became a fan when I was a student in Shiga. I have been following them ever since. It seems there are on fire this year. It seems the "Curse of Colonel Sanders" is nearing an end.
"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day." - Frank Sinatra
bshabu
Jaded Veteran
Jaded Veteran

Re: Japanese Pro Baseball

Unread postby MacGyver » Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:38 pm

I go to a couple of games every year and I kind of follow the Dragons. But I can't say I'm a big baseball fan. I'm so into cricket that every time I see a baseball game I can't help but think how inferior the game is in both skill and excitement to cricket that its really hard for me to watch a whole game on TV. Japanese baseball (to me) is just so predictable that there is rarely any excitement or tension. Just seems to me that there are far too many games and most games the players don't give a toss. Not that I blame them when they train and/play most of the year round and play 140-odd games. I think if the season was reduced to 50 to 70 games a year then it might make the players play harder and make the game a bit more exciting. Its hard to get excited about a win or down about a loss at the 40 game mark when there's another 100 to go!!! If you lose today who cares? Got heaps more games to make it up. But if you shortened the season, then it would mean every game had meaning.